Sales Toll Free No: 1-855-666-7446

Wavelength Spectrum


Wavelength spectrum is nothing but the spectrum of electromagnetic waves according to their wavelength. Electromagnetic waves consists of different waves like gamma rays, IR x-rays, microwaves etc. Electromagnetic waves are the wave which does not require a medium for the propagation. Radio wave is the longest wavelength one and gamma rays are the shortest wavelength radiations in the wavelength spectrum. The details about the electromagnetic waves and the visible spectrum are given in the following sections.

Electromagnetic Spectrum Wavelength

Back to Top
Electromagnetic waves include gamma rays, x rays, UV, visible, IR, microwave and radio waves. The arrangement of these waves according to wavelength constitute the electromagnetic spectrum wavelength. This wave can be arranged on the basis of frequency also. Gamma rays have a small wavelength of high frequency. Wavelength and frequency are inversely proportional. Given figure illustrates the electromagnetic spectrum wavelength.

Electromagnetic Spectrum

Electromagnetic Spectrum Wavelength Chart

Back to Top
According to the range of the wavelength we can arrange the electromagnetic waves. If we are considering the wavelength, radio waves comes in the first place. The wavelength and the electromagnetic waves are listed in the below table.
Wavelength Spectrum Range

Electromagnetic Wave
Wavelength (cm)
Radio waves >10
Microwaves 10 - 0.01
Infrared rays 0.01 - 7×10-5
Visible 7×10-5 - 4×10-5
Ultraviolet rays 4×10-5 - 10-7
X rays 10-7 - 10-9
Gamma rays <10-9

Colour Spectrum Wavelength

Back to Top
Colour spectrum region of the electromagnetic spectrum is nothing but the visible region. In this region, seven colours constitute different wavelength. The wavelength chart of this colour spectrum is explained in the next section. Colour spectrum is also known as the optical spectrum and these generated colours are pure spectral colour.

Visible Light Spectrum Wavelength

Back to Top
Visible light is one among the electromagnetic waves. According to the colour of the light, the wavelength and frequency will change. This visible region is in between the UV and IR region of the electromagnetic spectrum. Visible light consists of seven colours; they are, violet, indigo, blue, green, yellow,orange and red. The wavelength regarding these colours is mentioned in the wavelength chart which is given in the next section.

Visible Spectrum

Visible Light Spectrum Wavelength Chart

Back to Top
Visible light spectrum wavelength chart is given in the below table.

Wavelength (nm)
Violet 400 - 420
Indigo 420 - 440
Blue 440 - 490
Green 490 - 570
Yellow 570 - 585
Orange 585 - 620
Red 620 - 780